干得好我们已将此添加到您的收藏中。

您还可以将保存的作品整理到不同的图库中。

创建新图库 关闭
 

干得好

检查这块内容可为您赢得1 分。

罗杰-科托斯克的《无题
查看排行榜

哎呀

你离这块地方还不够近,无法登记。

罗杰-科托斯克的《无题
带我去 也许以后
  • 标题

    太阳黑子

  • 艺术家

    Haddad | Drugan

  • 地点

    丹佛动物收容所

  • 社区

    巴尔韦德

  • 年份

    2011

  • 作品类型

    公共雕塑

  • 材料

    不锈钢,狗牌

人们的评价

  • 7 人说发人深省

  • 7 人说上镜

  • 4 人说喜欢

  • 4 人说适合家庭

  • 2 人说互动

关闭
关闭

干得好

检查这块内容可为您赢得1 分。

太阳黑子
查看排行榜

关于这件作品

太阳点"是丹佛市南普拉特校园新市政动物收容所的一件多件艺术品。主要作品是一个 25 英尺高的标志性狗雕塑,位于场地的东南角,毗邻南普拉特小径,从 25 号州际公路可以看到。狗的造型是许多不同狗的混合体,实际上成为 "每只狗"。其宠物般的 "坐狗 "姿势表达了一种友好、俏皮和热情的天性。雕塑由钢结构骨架和不锈钢网组成,钢结构骨架上覆盖着 90,000 多个独立的不锈钢宠物标签。宠物标签的堆积象征着收容所每年有成千上万的宠物被领养。除了隐喻意义,宠物标签还将产生现象学效应。标签挂在挂钩上,在微风中飘动。  

Sun Spot的第二件作品是一个悬挂雕塑,位于动物收容所的前厅和领养等候室。其主要元素是一个直径 6 英尺的项圈,大小与外部狗雕塑相匹配。项圈上悬挂着刻有 "太阳斑 "名字的超大宠物标签。项圈由熏黑钢和金色铝制成,配有不锈钢搭扣和钉子细节。 项圈上切割和蚀刻的装饰图案源自狗雕塑周围的植物叶子和浆果。用于将项圈悬挂在天花板上的不锈钢链条参考了狗链。项圈下部悬挂着约 100 根链条,长度从 30 英寸到 66 英寸不等。每当有宠物从收容所被领养,新主人就有机会获得一个宠物标签,上面刻有宠物的名字和领养日期,然后将其挂在链条的一环上。狗雕塑上使用的标签都是不锈钢圆环,而项圈上的标签则有各种形状和颜色。 随着时间的推移,雕塑上的标签会越来越多,成为一种管理动物的共同姿态。雕塑的设计最多可容纳 7000 个标签。

艺术品的最后一个元素是另一套约 50 个宠物标签,巧妙地标记了南普拉特校园西侧南普拉特小径沿线的本地植物。这些标签刻有植物学和常见植物的名称。使用宠物标签为植物 "命名",将植物的价值与社会对宠物的重视联系起来。艺术家们希望这些树牌最终能激发 "认养一棵树 "的计划,即用本地植物取代非本地植物,努力使河岸植物区再生,就像市政设施对邻近的棕地进行回收一样,并与动物收容所的宠物领养活动联系起来。

太阳点 "的三件作品各自独立,但由于共同使用了宠物标签作为灵感材料,并与动物收容所的功能直接相关,因此将三件作品联系在一起。

Nice work! We've added this to your collection.

You can also organize your saved pieces into different galleries.

Create A New Gallery Close
 

Great Job!

Checking into this piece earned you 1 point.

Roger Kotoske's Untitled
View Leaderboard

Whoops!

You're not close enough to this piece to check in. ft.

Roger Kotoske's Untitled
Take Me There Maybe Later
  • Title

    Sun Spot

  • Artist

    Haddad | Drugan

    Haddad | Drugan

  • Location

    Denver Animal Shelter

  • Neighborhood

    Valverde

  • Year

    2011

  • Artwork Type

    Public Sculpture

  • Material

    stainless steel, dog tags

What People Are Saying

  • 8 people say Photogenic

  • 3 people say Love it

  • 2 people say Family Friendly

  • 2 people say Hidden Gem

  • 1 people say Interactive

  • 1 people say Thought Provoking

Close
Close

Great Job!

Checking into this piece earned you 1 point.

Sun Spot
View Leaderboard

About This Piece

Sun Spot is a multi-piece artwork for Denver’s new Municipal Animal Shelter at the South Platte Campus.  The primary piece is a 25’-tall iconic dog sculpture located at the southeast corner of the site, adjacent to the South Platte Trail and visible from Interstate-25.  The form of the dog is an amalgam of many different dogs, in effect becoming “every dog.”  Its pet-like, “sitting dog” pose expresses a friendly, playful, and welcoming nature.  The sculpture is made from a structural steel skeleton overlaid with stainless steel mesh that is then covered with more than 90,000 individual stainless steel pet tags.  The accumulation of pet tags is a symbol of the thousands of pet adoptions that occur in at the shelter every year.  In addition to metaphoric meaning, the pet tags will have phenomenological effects.  The tags hang from hooks and flutter in the breeze.  This slight 
 
The second piece of Sun Spot is a suspended sculpture located in the front lobby and adoption waiting room of the Animal Shelter.  Its principal ele­ment is a 6’-diameter collar, sized to fit the exterior dog sculpture.  Hanging from the collar is an oversized pet tag etched with the name “Sun Spot.”  The collar is made from blackened steel and gold aluminum, with stainless steel buckle and spike details.  Decorative patterns cut and etched into the collar are derived from the leaves and berries of the plants used around the dog sculpture.  The stainless steel chain used to suspend the collar from the ceiling references dog leashes.  Hanging from the lower side of the collar are approximately 100 individual strands of chain, ranging in length from 30” to 66”.  Every time a pet is adopted from the shelter the new owner will be given an opportunity to have a pet tag engraved with the name of the pet and date of the adoption, and then attached to a link of the chain. While the tags used on the dog sculpture are all stainless steel circles, the tags for the collar will be a variety of shapes and colors.  Over the years the sculpture will accumulate more and more tags, becoming a communal gesture of animal stewardship.  The sculpture is designed to accommodate up to 7,000 tags.  
 
The final element of the artwork is another set of approximately 50 pet tags, subtly marking native plants along the South Platte Trail west of the South Platte Campus.  These tags are engraved with botanical and common plant names.  Using pet tags to “name” the plants links their value with the societal value placed on pets.  The artists hope that the tree tags may eventually inspire an “adopt-a-tree” program, whereby non-native plants are replaced with native plants in an effort to regenerate the riparian plant zone similar to how the adjacent brownfield has been reclaimed by the municipal facility, and linking back to the pet adoptions that occur at the Animal Shelter.  
 
The three pieces of Sun Spot each work on an individual basis but are tied together by their common use of pet tags as an inspirational material that has a direct link to the function of the Animal Shelter.