丹佛新增三件公共艺术作品

丹佛艺术与场馆很高兴地宣布,丹佛公共艺术收藏中的三件新作品--"叶 "和 "茎"--已经完工。 "丹佛植物园的 丹佛植物园、 "蝴蝶结 "社区自然舞蹈 西木公园的 "社区自然舞蹈"。

"丹佛公共艺术经理迈克尔-查韦斯(Michael Chavez)说:"尽管经济困难,但丹佛公共艺术并没有放慢脚步。 "我们最近完成的三个项目早在我们开始看到 COVID-19 大流行病的影响之前就已经启动了,但市政府已经重申了继续进行资本改善的承诺,其中许多新项目也将包含公共艺术元素。 

丹佛公共艺术条例》成立于 1988 年,将丹佛市和丹佛县所有基本建设改造项目的 1%用于创作新的公共艺术作品。随着近 10 亿美元的建设和改造项目与 "提升丹佛债券"(Elevate Denver Bond)挂钩,丹佛公共艺术预计将继续委托创作新作品。 丹佛艺术博物馆/丹佛公共图书馆校园项目 国会公园游泳池和游乐场项目.

"查韦斯继续说:"我们现在有大约 60 个公共艺术项目正在进行中,这些项目处于从早期设计到制作和安装的不同阶段。"我们很高兴看到'树叶'、'蝴蝶结'和'社区自然舞蹈'项目完工。 

树叶 

为庆祝丹佛植物园弗莱尔-纽曼中心(Freyer-Newman Center)的艺术和科学收藏,杰森-克里莫斯基(Jason Klimoski)和莱斯利-张(Lesley Chang)创作了这座背光钢制雕塑,将自然之美与科学探索的严谨性融为一体。251 个小格子中的每一个都包含了丹佛植物园凯瑟琳-卡姆巴赫标本馆收藏的科罗拉多本地植物标本的剪影。其中包括该标本的识别码,世界上任何人都可以通过该识别码获取有关该植物的信息,包括其学名和采集地点。每个标本都是时间的缩影,捕捉了特定地方的生物多样性,并为过去留下了永久记录,成为帮助保护我们未来的资源。 

弓 

艺术家帕特里克-马罗尔德(Patrick Marold)利用石材和钢材创造出光线和空间的拱形线条,补充并加强了公众对景观的观察和参与。在 "公园人"(The Park People)的额外资助下,克兰默公园(Cranmer Park)的这一艺术作品得以创作,以增强前方山脉和天空的全景视野。该艺术品位于公园的东部边缘,公园附近的公共通道两旁种满了树木,为游客提供了艺术品的框架。 

社区自然舞蹈 

2018 年,在盖茨家族基金会(Gates Family Foundation)的支持下,公共土地信托基金与丹佛艺术与场馆协会(Denver Arts & Venues)和社区合作,为韦斯特伍德公园(Westwood Park)委托创作了独特的艺术作品,反映并颂扬了韦斯特伍德社区的多样性和文化。由丽莎-卡梅隆-拉塞尔(Lisa Cameron Russell)创作的不锈钢雕塑具有马里亚奇舞、弗拉门戈舞和蝴蝶元素。 

如需进一步了解丹佛公共艺术收藏的这些作品和其他作品,请访问 丹佛公共艺术网.

关于丹佛艺术与场馆 

丹佛艺术与场馆的使命是通过一流的公共场馆、艺术和娱乐机会来提升丹佛的生活质量和经济活力。艺术与场馆是丹佛市和丹佛郡的机构,负责运营该地区一些最著名的设施,包括红岩公园和露天剧场、丹佛表演艺术中心、科罗拉多会议中心、丹佛体育馆和麦克尼科尔斯市政中心大楼。艺术与场馆部还负责监督丹佛公共艺术计划(Denver Public Art Program)、创建丹佛(Create Denver)、SCFD Tier III 拨款程序、艺术教育基金(Arts Education Fund)以及其他娱乐和文化活动,如五点爵士音乐节(Five Points Jazz Festival)、城市艺术基金(Urban Arts Fund)、P.S. You Are Here 和 IMAGINE 2020 的实施:丹佛文化计划》的实施。丹佛艺术与场馆致力于在我们所有的项目、计划和决策过程中实现多样性、公平性和包容性。 

www.ArtsandVenues.com

关于丹佛公共艺术 

丹佛的公共艺术计划是 1988 年根据费德里科-培尼亚市长的一项行政命令建立的。该命令于 1991 年由丹佛市议会颁布为法令,规定在丹佛市进行的任何超过 100 万美元的基本建设改造项目中,必须留出 1%的资金用于纳入艺术作品。在过去的 30 年中,这些艺术品与历史性的和捐赠的艺术品共同构成了丹佛市的公共艺术收藏。公共艺术收藏扩大了丹佛居民在公共场所体验艺术的机会。 www.DenverPublicArt.org

关于 Jason Klimoski 和 Lesley Chang 

STUDIOKCA 是一家屡获殊荣的建筑设计公司,由 Jason Klimoski 和 Lesley Chang 领导,总部位于纽约布鲁克林,其项目规模和复杂程度不一,从照明装置和室内装饰到公共装置、雕塑和建筑,遍布纽约、佛蒙特州、内华达州、威斯康星州、巴西、台湾和巴布亚新几内亚。他的设计实践探索了环境和地域如何为设计提供灵感。  

我们为客户提供设计和创造物品和空间的机会,以直接满足他们的项目需求和特定场地的环境条件。对于每个项目,我们感兴趣的是如何利用材料的工艺或用途来解决问题、塑造故事情节、创造场所感,并提供与客户及其场地产生共鸣的独特解决方案。  

www.studiokca.com

关于帕特里克-马罗尔德 

二十多年来,帕特里克-马罗尔德一直致力于将物理环境与我们的认知取向结合起来。他出生并成长于 Wheat Ridge,在科罗拉多的生活中一直与当地的艺术和文化界保持着联系。自 1997 年从罗德岛设计学院获得艺术学士学位以来,他的艺术发展一直与景观保持着密切联系,扩展了后极简主义所特有的环境传统,并专门从事现场工作。他在美国和国外的不同地方不断完善自己的创作实践,其中包括他早期在冰岛获得富布赖特奖学金的机会,在那里他开始更充分地引导自己的精力去创作那些利用空间动态来增强对光和运动的感知的作品。他的作品在画廊和博物馆广泛展出,并因其工作室作品和公共场所项目获得多个奖项和认可。在过去十年中,他完成了许多公共委托项目,包括丹佛国际机场占地 7 英亩的装置作品 "阴影阵列"。 马罗尔德在科罗拉多州前沿地区有一间工作室,他将继续努力创作影响我们个人和社会观念的雕塑作品。 

www.patrickmarold.com

关于丽莎-卡梅伦-罗素 

丽莎从事公共项目创作已有 20 多年,她努力创造能为社区带来欢乐的艺术作品,正如她在创作过程中获得的体验一样。她在处理公共项目时,会尊重周围的环境,并使其更加突出。她的目标是创造出兼具抽象和写实元素的创意场所,并通过引用历史和永恒的特征吸引尽可能多的观众。  

www.lisajcameron.com

关于公园人 

公园人致力于保护、提升和宣传丹佛的公园、娱乐资源、开放空间和城市森林。我们通过为公园改造和资本项目(如克兰默公园日晷和广场的重建)筹集私人资金来实现这一使命。 theparkpeople.org

关于公共土地信托基金 

公共土地信托基金会为人类创建公园和保护土地,确保为子孙后代提供健康、宜居的社区。2014 年至 2018 年期间,公共土地信托基金与丹佛公园和娱乐部以及 Westwood Unidos 合作,与 Westwood 社区一起,通过对公园进行全面翻新来改造 Westwood 公园。  

www.tpl.org

Denver is Now Home to Three New Pieces of Public Art

Denver Arts & Venues is pleased to announce the completion of three new pieces in the Denver Public Art collection – “Leaf” at the Denver Botanic Gardens, “Bows” in Cranmer Park and “Community Nature Dance” in Westwood Park. 

“Despite our difficult economy, Denver Public Art is not slowing down,” said Denver Public Art manager Michael Chavez.  “Our three recently completed projects were started long before we started to see the impacts of the COVID-19  pandemic, but the city has reiterated its commitment to continuing capital improvements, and many of those new  projects will also have public art components.” 

Established in 1988, the Denver Public Art ordinance dedicates 1% of all City and County of Denver capital improvement  projects to the creation of new public art. With nearly $1B in construction and improvements tied to the Elevate Denver  Bond, Denver Public Art expects to continue to commission new works, recently opening calls for qualifications for the Denver Art Museum/Denver Public Library campus project and Congress Park pool and playground project

“We have approximately 60 public art projects in the works right now, in various stages from early design all the way to  fabrication and installation,” continued Chavez. “We are so excited to see ‘Leaf,’ ‘Bows’ and ‘Community Nature Dance’  completed.” 

Leaf 

In celebration of the art and science collections housed in the Denver Botanic Gardens’ Freyer-Newman Center, this back lit steel sculpture created by Jason Klimoski and Lesley Chang blends the beauty of nature with the rigor of scientific  inquiry. Each of its 251 cells contain a silhouette of a Colorado native plant specimen held by Denver Botanic Gardens’  Kathryn Kalmbach Herbarium. Included is the identification number of that specimen, which allows anyone in the world  access to information about the plant, including its scientific name and where it was collected. Each specimen is a  snapshot in time, capturing the biodiversity of a particular place and creating a permanent record of the past that serves  as a resource to help protect our future. 

Bows 

Artist Patrick Marold used stone and steel to create arching lines of light and space, complementing and enhancing how  the public sees and engages with the landscape. With additional funding from The Park People, this artwork at Cranmer  Park was created to enhance the panoramic perspectives of the front range and sky. Located on the eastern edge of the  park, trees line public passageway from the neighborhood and frame the artwork for visitors. 

Community Nature Dance 

In 2018, The Trust for Public Land with support from the Gates Family Foundation collaborated with Denver Arts &  Venues and the community to commission unique artwork for Westwood Park that reflects and celebrates the diversity  and culture of the Westwood community. The stainless-steel sculpture created by Lisa Cameron Russell features  mariachi, flamenco and butterfly elements. 

To learn more about these and other works in the Denver Public Art collection, please visit DenverPublicArt.org.

About Denver Arts & Venues 

Denver Arts & Venues’ mission is to amplify Denver’s quality of life and economic vitality through premier public venues, arts and  entertainment opportunities. Arts & Venues is the City and County of Denver agency responsible for operating some of the region’s most  renowned facilities, including Red Rocks Park and Amphitheatre, the Denver Performing Arts Complex, Colorado Convention Center, Denver  Coliseum and McNichols Civic Center Building. Arts & Venues also oversees the Denver Public Art Program, Create Denver, SCFD Tier III  granting process, Arts Education Fund and other entertainment and cultural events such as the Five Points Jazz Festival, Urban Arts Fund, P.S.  You Are Here and implementation of IMAGINE 2020: Denver’s Cultural Plan. Denver Arts & Venues is committed to diversity, equity and  inclusiveness in all our programs, initiatives and decision-making processes. 

www.ArtsandVenues.com 

About Denver Public Art 

Denver’s Public Art Program was established in 1988 as an Executive Order under Mayor Federico Peña. The order, enacted into Ordinance by  Denver City Council in 1991, directs that 1% of any capital improvement project over $1 million undertaken by the City, be set aside for the  inclusion of art. Over the past 30 years these artworks, along with the historic and donated works of art, make up the City’s Public Art  Collection. The Public Art Collection has expanded the opportunity for Denver residents to experience art in public places. www.DenverPublicArt.org 

About Jason Klimoski and Lesley Chang 

STUDIOKCA is an award-winning architecture and design firm led by Jason Klimoski and Lesley Chang based in Brooklyn, New York with  projects ranging in scale and complexity from lighting fixtures and interiors, to public installations, sculptures and buildings in New York,  Vermont, Nevada, Wisconsin, Brazil, Taiwan, and Papua New Guinea. The practice explores the ways in which context and locality offer 

opportunities to design and create objects and spaces that respond directly to the demands of their programs and site-specific environmental  conditions. With each project, we are interested in how materials can be crafted or purposed to solve a problem, shape a narrative, create a  sense of place, and offer a unique solution that resonates with our clients and their sites. 

www.studiokca.com 

About Patrick Marold 

Patrick Marold has been working on binding the physical environment with our perceived orientation for over two decades. He was born and  grew up in Wheat Ridge and has been connected with the local arts and cultural scene throughout his life in Colorado. Since earning a BFA  from Rhode Island School of Design in 1997, his artistic development has maintained an intimate connection to the landscape, extending the  environmental traditions unique to post-minimalism and working site specifically. Refinement of his practice has been pursued in various  locations in America and abroad, including opportunities like that of his early Fulbright Fellowship in Iceland, where he began to more fully  direct his energies to create works that utilize spatial dynamics to generate an enhanced perception of light and movement. Exhibiting widely  in galleries and museums, he has earned multiple awards and recognition for his studio works as well as his publicly sited projects. In the last  decade, he has completed numerous public commissions, including the 7-acre installation, Shadow Array, at Denver’s International Airport.  Marold maintains a studio in the front range of Colorado and continues working towards sculptural statements that impact on our personal  and communal perception. 

www.patrickmarold.com 

About Lisa Cameron Russell 

Creating public projects for over 20 years, Lisa strives to create art that brings as much joy to the community it belongs to as the experience of  creating it does for her. She approaches public projects by respectfully engaging and accenting the surrounding environment. Her goal is to  build creative placemaking that combines both abstract and realistic elements and engages the largest audience possible by referencing  historical and timeless features. 

www.lisajcameron.com 

About The Park People 

The Park People works to preserve, enhance, and advocate for Denver’s parks, recreation resources, open space, and urban forest. We pursue  this mission by raising private funds for park enhancements and capital projects, like the reconstruction of the Cranmer Park Sundial & Plaza. theparkpeople.org 

About Trust for Public Land 

The Trust for Public Land creates parks and protects land for people, ensuring healthy, livable communities for generations to come. In  partnership with Denver Parks and Recreation and Westwood Unidos, The Trust for Public Land worked with the Westwood community from  2014-2018 to transform Westwood Park through a complete park renovation. 

www.tpl.org